Founded by the late Daniel Rogov, focusing primarily on wines that are either kosher or Israeli.
User

YoelA

Rank

Wine guru

Fri Sep 05, 2008 2:43 pm

Tel Aviv, Israel

Notes from our dessert wine tasting

by YoelA » Tue May 27, 2014 9:49 pm

Fifteen people (including my wife and me) at our tasting of kosher dessert wines yesterday (an annual benefit for our synagogue, the ninth one we have held).

We tasted eight dessert wines. The wines ranged in price from $ 17 to $ 75 per 750 ml bottle (or the equivalent). For the most part, they're expensive and don't have what I would consider a good qpr. Several of the wines were about the most expensive that we have had in our tastings.

Overall, many of those tasting were excited about one or more of the wines. I found the wines interesting but I was not as excited as I had expected. Hopefully wine tasting hasn't left me jaded. And please forgive me for not specifying which fruits I found in the wines. That's something I'm not good at.

My notes:

2009 Carmel Sha’al Vineyard late harvest gewurtztraminer (Israel) (11.9% alc., 16.0% residual sugar); $ 22 – half bottle

This was one of the group favorites and scored highly by Rogov. The nose is very fruity; the wine has a medium body, excellent acid-sugar ratio and is still young. The acid, sugar and fruit indicate to me that it's capable of long aging and development in the bottle (10 years+ ?)

2008 Hagafen late harvest Sonoma Coast sauvignon blanc (Cal.) (11.5% alc., 12% residual sugar); $ 30 – half bottle

The nose was a bit musky. Some called it "soapy" or the like. Fruit and acid are well balanced but the flavors seemed simpler that the Sha'al. For the price, the Sha'al is a better wine and a better value.