The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Recommended Pauillacs?

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

MichaelRedhill

Rank

Wine geek

Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:42 am

Narbonne, France

Recommended Pauillacs?

by MichaelRedhill » Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:16 pm

I've recently had the 2004 d'Armailhac and thought it was wonderful, and am wondering what you folks would recommend in the same price range as this wine from Pauillac. Also, I'm curious about the history of this domaine (I understand it used to be the Mouton Rothschild property) and if you folks feel there is a better Pauillac for around this kind of money, I'd be curious to know. Finally, is the 2001 the best recent vintage. I'm a newbie ... can you tell?

Many thanks,

Michael
no avatar
User

David Creighton

Rank

Wine guru

Wed May 24, 2006 10:07 am

ann arbor, michigan

Re: Recommended Pauillacs?

by David Creighton » Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:10 pm

i'll handle the first part of your question later when i am closer to my notes. in the meantime, the recent vintages with the best reputations are 2000 and 2005 - and some people would put 2003 up there as well. the 2001 and 2004 are more 'classically' or 'typically' styled vintages. they are less intense than the other 3 generally. the 2001's like the 1999's before them can be just delicious.
david creighton
no avatar
User

Matt Richman

Rank

Wine guru

Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:16 pm

Brooklyn, NY

by Matt Richman » Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:19 pm

Michael-