The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Halloween Festivites (long)

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Kyrstyn Kralovec

Rank

Wine guru

Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:50 pm

Washington DC, Oregon bound

Halloween Festivites (long)

by Kyrstyn Kralovec » Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:55 pm

We attended an event at Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse sponsored by the French Wine Society on Halloween called “Which is Witch”. The gist is that there were five flights – two whites and three reds – which were poured blind and we had to guess which wine was which. This should have been relatively easy since they gave us a handout with descriptions of each wine poured in each flight, but me and my partner still only nailed 2 out of the 5 flights. It was rather humbling because there were complete noobies who did better than we did. Oh well, it ended up being fun anyway – following are the wines and their descriptions as provided by the FWS:

FLIGHT ONE

Les Carisannes Sauvignon Blanc 2006, VdP du Jardin: Although pale straw in color, this wine explodes with aroma. In this light bodied wine, look for pungent flavors of gooseberry and lemongrass with moderate acidity and a flinty, stony finish.

Ch. De Castelneau 2006, Entre-Deux-Mers: This wine is golden in hue. The nose speaks to light sulfides…roasted hazelnuts and toasted almonds. The wine is medium bodied and mellow with flavors of toasted nuts, melon and fig.

We got this one correct, although it would have been hard not to since the color and nose were contrasted sharply enough to make it a no-brainer.

FLIGHT TWO

Joseph Kaetzel Pinot Gris 2005, Alsace: The wine is full of tropical fruit…papaya, pineapple and Asian pear. It is smooth with low acidity and possesses a delicately perfumed, floral finish