The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Ken Wright 1997Canary vyd pinot

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Bob Henrick

Rank

Kamado Kommander

Thu Mar 23, 2006 7:35 pm

Lexington, Ky.

Ken Wright 1997Canary vyd pinot

by Bob Henrick » Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:18 pm

Just yesterday I saw almost a case of the subject wine on closeout at my BAWS, Price was $20, and I have very little experience with the wine. SO I am asking those here more schooled in Oregon pinot than I, for their impression. should I get six or so of them, or should I pass, or should I hope they drop in price this upcoming week?
Bob Henrick
no avatar
User

Robin Garr

Rank

Forum Janitor

Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:44 pm

Louisville, KY

Re: Ken Wright 1997Canary vyd pinot

by Robin Garr » Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:05 pm

Bob Henrick wrote:Just yesterday I saw almost a case of the subject wine on closeout at my BAWS, Price was $20, and I have very little experience with the wine. SO I am asking those here more schooled in Oregon pinot than I, for their impression. should I get six or so of them, or should I pass, or should I hope they drop in price this upcoming week?

Bob, I assume you mean Canary Hill Vineyard? I had the '01 in May '04 and thought it was fine and didn't really demand further aging. My only question would be how a 9-year-old has held up (and how it's been stored). I don't hear enough about Ken Wright to have a good handle on its perceived aging potential.

Here's my TN on the '01:

<b>Ken Wright Cellars 2001 Canary Hill Vineyard Willamette Valley Pinot Noir</b> ($37.49)