The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Urgent question!

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

JeffB

Rank

Cellar rat

Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:36 pm

Omaha

Urgent question!

by JeffB » Wed Dec 20, 2006 3:45 pm

Hello, this is my first post here and I am most certainly a complete novice when it comes to wine. For Christmas I purchased what I believe/hope to be a very nice bottle of wine for a friend. It is a 1999 Guigal La Mouline. My friend lives out of state and I am getting ready to ship the bottle to him with overnight shipping (and lots of special padding/packing). Before putting the bottle in its packaging I held it up to a light hoping to catch some kind of glimpse of the color (the bottle itself is very dark). I was very surprised to see many large particles floating around in the wine. Some of them were literally an inch long. Is this normal?? I have never noticed this in the $10-30 per bottle "cheap" wines that I normally drink, but admittedly this is the first bottle I have ever purchased of this caliber. I just don't want to risk sending it off to him today if this particular bottle is bad.

Please help!
Thanks,
Jeff
no avatar
User

Howie Hart

Rank

The Hart of Buffalo

Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:13 pm

Niagara Falls, NY

Re: Urgent question!

by Howie Hart » Wed Dec 20, 2006 3:59 pm

Welcome Jeff!