The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Amarone Classico question......

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Paulo in Philly

Rank

Wine guru

Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:26 pm

Philadelphia, PA

Amarone Classico question......

by Paulo in Philly » Fri Feb 16, 2007 9:04 pm

Tonight I opened one of my birthday gifts, a 2003 Corte Antica Amarone della Valpolicella Classico, 15% alcohol. I am ashamed to say I have very little experience with this region, even though it is where my great grandfather was from (don't roll in your grave, great grand-pa!). Early attempts with the region a few years back were not so exciting, finding myself with very jammy "ripasso" wines. Tonight, however, I find this wine intriguing; though high alcoholic, the prickly acidity was very refreshing, though my gut tells me (other than I should continue going to the gym), that I should have waited more time before opening this 2003 wine. The wine is incredibly full bodied with deep dark cherry/chocolate/spice/licorice notes. Any words of wisdom and/or comments???
no avatar
User

James Roscoe

Rank

Chat Prince

Wed Mar 22, 2006 6:43 pm

D.C. Metro Area - Maryland

Re: Amarone Classico question......

by James Roscoe » Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:19 pm

The Corte Antica is a nice entry Amorone. I get the most recent vintage at my local Total Wine outlet for $19.99, which is quite a steal for Amorone of any kind. I always find the Antica pretty slurpable, but pay a little more and you will get a little more. Of course visit a rich uncle in Verona.....You are in serious trouble now. It's great with a nice piece of rare duck breast, but that's just me.
Yes, and how many deaths will it take 'til he knows
That too many people have died?
The answer, my friend, is blowin' in the wind
The answer is blowin' in the wind.
no avatar
User

Bill Buitenhuys

Rank

Wine guru

Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:47 pm

Phoenix metro

by Bill Buitenhuys » Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:19 pm