Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

Has anybody ever roasted okra?

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Robin Garr

Rank

Forum Janitor

Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:44 pm

Louisville, KY

Has anybody ever roasted okra?

by Robin Garr » Sat Jul 25, 2015 12:37 pm

We love okra over here, and know how to cook it so it's not slimy. :P Favorite options are Indian-style (bhindi) or Cajun-style (okra gumbo, etc.) I'll eat a bowl full of fried okra in a restaurant, but probably wouldn't do it at home.

I've never tried roasting it before, though, although to my mind, roasting is just about one of the best things you can do to any veggie. Naturally I was intrigued by this recipe for an okra roast with garlic butter, yum. I found it in a blog ("In Sock Monkey Slippers"), and now that I've stocked up on a big bag of fresh local okra at the farmers' market today, I'm ready to try it tonight.

Have any of you ever roasted okra? Any thoughts, tips or warnings?

Here's a link ...
http://www.insockmonkeyslippers.com/roa ... lic-butter

... and a copy of the recipe:

Roasted Okra with Garlic Butter
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 15 minutes
Yield: 4 servings

Tender yet firm roasted okra bathed in a tempting garlic butter and kissed with flakes of sea salt, is a tempting summer side dish that's hard to put down

Ingredients

1 pound okra, trimmed of their ends
2 tablespoons grapes or canola oil
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 garlic clove. peeled and minced
Flaked sea salt such as Maldon
1 teaspoon of Tabasco or lemon juice, if desired

Directions

Preheat oven to 475°F.

In a large bowl, toss to combine okra and oil. Spread out evenly on a baking sheet. Roast for 15 minutes, flipping the okra every 5 minutes, until the okra begins to brown yet is still firm.