The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Ageability of St Chinian Wines

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Steve Gash

Rank

Cellar rat

Mon Oct 22, 2007 11:10 pm

Toronto

Ageability of St Chinian Wines

by Steve Gash » Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:46 am

I am brand new to this discussion group - this is my first post...I look forward to participating.

I'm wondering if any members have thoughts on the ageability of St Chinian wines in general. I was planning to purchase a 1999 Domaine Navarre Cuvee Olivier - but thought that perhaps it could be past its optimum drinking window?

I would be thankful for any perspectives on this wine and the age-worthiness of the appellation in general.

Cheers,
Steve
no avatar
User

Bob Parsons Alberta

Rank

aka Doris

Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:09 pm

Re: Ageability of St Chinian Wines

by Bob Parsons Alberta » Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm

Welcome Steve and great to have another Canadian here! You will usually get much response to any question, great folks here.

I did find this for you.........................http://www.wine-pages.com/guests/hamish/chinian.htm
no avatar
User

Tim York

Rank

Wine guru

Tue May 09, 2006 2:48 pm

near Lisieux, France

by Tim York » Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:42 am

Strangely I seem to have consumed less Saint-Chinian than most other Languedoc appellations but I don't expect that its ageing curve is much different.

In general I don't rate Languedoc wines suitable for the long haul but the best are really delicious for five or so years. That does not mean the wines may not hold for a lot longer but they can lose some attractive freshness without compensating by developing fine and subtle secondary and tertiary flavours.