The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Posting on flawed or off bottles?

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Bruce Hayes

Rank

Wine guru

Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:20 am

Prescott, Ontario, Canada

Posting on flawed or off bottles?

by Bruce Hayes » Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:08 pm

I need some guidance from others on an issue I have often struggled with.

Is there any point-benefit-value to posting WTNs on wines that are "slightly" off or flawed? I say "slightly" since, obviously, if a wine is corked, it just gets dumped. However, there are times, such as tonight, when we have a wine that may have a few redeeming features, but also displays some obvious flaws. We drank the wine and I took notes, flaws and all, but is there any point in my posting my impressions?

This becomes a more difficult question when I am dealing with a wine I have never tried before. Are these really flaws, or is this simply a poorly made wine, perhaps from a weak vintage, that simply isn't worthy of my time? Based on a positive review I read of this wine, I suspect it is a flawed wine, but who knows?

So, I would appreciate hearing your views.
no avatar
User

Robin Garr

Rank

Forum Janitor

Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:44 pm

Louisville, KY

Re: Posting on flawed or off bottles?

by Robin Garr » Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:17 pm

Bruce, it's really a judgment call. Generally speaking, when a wine is corked, cooked, or otherwise damaged in a way that clearly makes it an atypical representation of what the producer made, then I think most of us would hesitate to post a standard TN presenting the wine as if the flaw were its normal condition. (With the exception that I might do it, with a disclaimer, in a <I>Wine Advisor</I> article if I chose to use the flawed wine as an example to teach the flaw.

If I think the flaw is from the winery and likely to afflict all the bottles of that selection and vintage - VA or brett, for instance - then I'm likely to post it.