The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: Latour 2006 white and 2005 red tasting

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Keith M

Rank

Beer Explorer

Sat Jan 06, 2007 2:25 am

Finger Lakes, New York

WTN: Latour 2006 white and 2005 red tasting

by Keith M » Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:11 am

A local DC retailer hosted this wine event tasting the 2006 whites and 2005 reds from Louis Latour along with some sparklers and Chablis from Simonnet-Febvre, who Latour purchased in 2003. My impressions of the wines are below.

The caveats - I used this event to continue my education on wines from Burgundy. Hence, I’m no expert—especially on how wines develop over time. In addition the white were bottled just weeks ago, so a number of them have not come into their own as of yet. Just a snapshot of where they are for me at the moment.

Reflections on the event overall – I have never done a big organized tasting like this before (I am very mildly agoraphobic), but I think all in all it went pretty well. The one downer on the event was that they ran out of the 2005 Louis Latour Grand Cru Corton-Grancey before I got a chance to try it. I estimate that means that from one quarter to one-third of the people who paid to be at the tasting did not get a chance to taste that wine. Unless there were some pretty unique circumstances, I find that completely unacceptable.