The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

BTN: My introduction to Russian River Brewing Co.

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Keith M

Rank

Beer Explorer

Sat Jan 06, 2007 2:25 am

Finger Lakes, New York

BTN: My introduction to Russian River Brewing Co.

by Keith M » Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:04 am

I've been looking for good beer retailers around my new home and found a local blog whose author provided me with a very useful annotated list of beer shops in the area. I quickly noted the emphasis he gave to whether a given shop sold Russian River Brewing's Damnation. So when I visited a great local shop (Ledger's Liquors) and saw someone buying RRBC by the case, decided I needed to explore this producer that I have never tried before. I was blown away . . . the Beatification, in particular, was stunning and in a style I don't often run into.

Russian River Brewing Beatification Batch 002. Santa Rosa, California (wild/sour ale) sparkling wine-type mushroom cork with wire cage, 6% – appears blond yellow-orange with lots of white bubbles, cloudy, smell tart watermelony yeast, smooth banana seductive, slight clay, very inviting while a bit stinky mouthfeel smooth, subtle and pleasant, taste wow, this is great stuff, bubblegum without any sugar, tart and yeasty, wonderfully smooth, incredibly interesting complexity, tangy and earthy, this is phenomenal beer, worth it at nearly $14 for 375 ml/12 ounce bottle.