The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

2007 in Mosel? The best vintage I have seen so far!

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Fredrik

Rank

Wine geek

Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:01 pm

2007 in Mosel? The best vintage I have seen so far!

by Fredrik » Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:20 am

Some of you might have seen that there has been this odd fellow in Luxembourg claiming that 2005 is not the greatest vintage in Mosel, just very good.

Well, now have the time come for mr Critical, me, to claim that 2007 is the best vintage I have experienced from Mosel. I have about fifteen years of experience in drinking Mosel wines, so my experience is extensive but not great.

The auction wines last week convinced me. The 2007s are generally so balanced, harmonic and complex that I have not seen anything like it before. Sometimes they have been a little too green to see that they where aromatically perfectly ripe. However, despite that, they are generally perfectly ripe both in sugar and aromas, with balanced sugar levels and aromas just perfectly developed.

So, if you like me likes balanced, harmonic wines with complex aromas that can develop interestingly in bottle then 2007 will be you best buy ever. 2005 is for those loving sugar, power and low acidity.

Best
Fredrik Svensson, Luxembourg
no avatar
User

Martin Barz

Rank

Ultra geek

Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:22 am

Re: 2007 in Mosel? The best vintage I have seen so far!

by Martin Barz » Mon Sep 29, 2008 6:01 am

YES

Yesterday, I had 2007 J.J. Prüm "Wehlener Sonnenuhr" Spätlese. YUM, YUM

Cheers,
Martin
http://berlinkitchen.com
no avatar
User

David M. Bueker

Rank

Riesling Guru

Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:52 am

Connecticut

by David M. Bueker » Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:23 am

I like the 2007s a lot, but wish they had a drop more acidity. Of course it will come in time as the sugars back off a bit, but for me the 2007s are too suave with a shortage of verve.