The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: '91 Becker WW Auslese

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Dan Donahue

Rank

Ultra geek

Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:02 pm

IL

WTN: '91 Becker WW Auslese

by Dan Donahue » Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:49 pm

1991 J. B. Becker Wallufer Walkenberg Riesling Auslese Rheingau

I've never tried this producer before; some quick research indicated an affinity for the Trocken end of the spectrum. Cork was soiled under the foil, but was fine otherwise. Color was a clear and rich golden yellow. Still youthful to the eye and the nose, which featured peach, white flowers and citrus. Tangy and fruity (yellow fruits mainly, a hint of green apple) without being edgy or cloyingly sweet. Middle of the road is often used as a term of denigration--not here. Yes, a little more intensity would not have hurt, still this was quite enjoyable in its own relaxed manner. And a good example that "Auslese" relates to ripeness and not residual sugar. ap nr 18-93

Served as the welcome wine for a dinner with friends. It was such a hit that I held off serving the other wines for a time. We also had the '06 Rhys/Alesia San Mateo (three hours in a decanter) and the '05 Kosta-Browne RRV (one hour in a decanter). Both excellent wines--in very different styles--hardly in need of any additional notes.
Je ne peux pas le faire
no avatar
User

David M. Bueker

Rank

Riesling Guru

Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:52 am

Connecticut

Re: WTN: '91 Becker WW Auslese

by David M. Bueker » Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:10 pm

I know the site, but not the producer.
Decisions are made by those who show up
no avatar
User

Dan Donahue

Rank

Ultra geek

Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:02 pm

IL

Re: WTN: '91 Becker WW Auslese

by Dan Donahue » Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:31 pm