The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Anybody tasted this recently?

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Ryan M

Rank

Wine Gazer

Wed Jul 09, 2008 3:01 pm

Atchison, KS

Anybody tasted this recently?

by Ryan M » Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:58 pm

Hello Folks,

I've got a bottle of Louis Martini, Cabernet Sauvignon, Sonoma 2001 I've been holding onto for a few years, hoping to see if it would drink well for as long as I guessed it would (just a cheap bet, you might say), but I've read somewhat recent notes from Cellar Tracker claiming it is past it's peak. That might be a matter of taste, since Martini's wines are not your typical Cali Cabs, but I'm curious if anybody here has tasted it in the last year or two, and if so, what you though of its current condition and future prospects. I'm also running out of cellar space, and so have other reasons to just drink it, but if the prospects are still good, I may yet hold onto it.

Of course, I have reason to suspect the Cellar Tracker users don't agree with my palate much, as last year they declared a modest Rioja I had was going downhill fast, I had planned on opening it last year anyway, so I did, and found that not only was it in nice shape, but that it could probably last another year or two.

Thanks,
Ryan
"The sun, with all those planets revolving about it and dependent on it, can still ripen a bunch of grapes as if it had nothing else to do"
Galileo Galilei

(avatar: me next to the WIYN 3.5 meter telescope at Kitt Peak National Observatory)
no avatar
User

Jenise

Rank

FLDG Dishwasher

Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:45 pm

The Pacific Northest Westest

Re: Anybody tasted this recently?

by Jenise » Wed Mar 18, 2009 3:15 pm

Ryan, just my opinion, but where Martini didn't used to be a typical California cabernet under Gallo ownership, to my tastes (02 vintage and more recent), they've become just that. Don't know at what point their style changed.