The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Oregon, Pinot Yes and Pinot No

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

ChefJCarey

Rank

Wine guru

Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:06 pm

Noir Side of the Moon

Oregon, Pinot Yes and Pinot No

by ChefJCarey » Sun May 24, 2009 12:20 am

I'm not a wine writer and have no desire to be. I am a writer, though, and the number of adjectives required to write about wines scares the hell out of me. I am adjective leery.

That being said I drink wine all the time. And would occasionally like to recommend some.

I've probably tasted at least 80 different 2007 Oregon pinot noirs now. It was a tough year for the Willamette Valley winemakers. Some did well. Some not so. I've also tasted numerous 2006s and probably at least 40 - 50 2008 barrel tastings.

Here are some I like: Stone Wolf -terrific at the price point - coulda charged a lot more. Eyrie. St. Innocent (you can buy some stock if you have any money left). Vidon. Lemelson. Anthony Dell. Beaux Freres (one of them, anyway). Panther Creek (surprise!). I was a little disappointed with Patricia Green as she normally does a very good job and has vines that are literally ten feet from Beaux Freres' Upper Terrace. Had a great wine today , from a fledgling winemaker, Ghost Hills, grapes sourced from Bayliss-Bower Vineyard. If you've had premium wines from some of the best winemakers in Oregon you've had their fruit.

Vista Hills. Aramenta. De Ponte. Bryce. Like all of those. A couple of really good Sheas - and the barrel tastings for the 2008 are even better. There are more but I have to finish dinner. I was not enthralled with the Domaine Serene 2006s, but the 2008 barrel tasting showed much more promise.

So, I'll get to what I have not liked. In a blind tasting with three winemakers I was very disappointed with Bergstrom - especially at the price point.