The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Wine Scores Over The Short Term???

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

TomHill

Rank

Here From the Very Start

Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:01 pm

Wine Scores Over The Short Term???

by TomHill » Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:06 pm

On my bike this morning, my mind tends to wander into various crevases and cubbyholes; ignoring the body's cries of pain & agony "why are you doing this to me":
Since I'm a mere amateur and nobody gives a rip about my opinions on a wine; I don't bother to give the wines I taste a 100-pt score. But the professional wine critics can taste a wine and give it an accurate/reasonably infalible score, based on that one brief taste. We are assured that that score applies to the wine sometime down the road when it reaches the peak of its maturity; not what the wine would score at that point in time when they taste it. These professional wine critics have vastly more wine experience than I and I don't question their ability to do this. That's why they're professionals.
However, many of us have experienced wines (usually older ones but not necessarily) over the short time period of hrs or a day or two when the wine will often change dramatically in the glass or decanter has it breathes, afore it turns to vinegar in a day or two.
So I'm sorta curious. When these professional wine critics take that one taste of wine and spit it out and assign their scores, does that score apply to that wine at that point in time, does it apply to that wine when they think it will peak, or does it apply to that point out in time as the wine breathes in the glass that it reaches its optimum peak with breathing.