The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: Another First! More Irony?

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

AaronW

Rank

Ultra geek

Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:45 pm

Just south of SLC

WTN: Another First! More Irony?

by AaronW » Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:43 am

Recolte 2003 La Chablisienne Chablis Premier Cru Mont De Milieu 13%alc.

This is my first time to try Premier Cru Chablis (the real stuff, I guess)! So what's my first impression? ---I'm not that impressed. :( I thought Chablis was supposed to be this unoaked-acid_driven-mouth-watering-type Chardonnay-alternative to, well -- Chardonnay! But I guess my expectations were too high. :oops: My wine merchant is closing out the vintage at 1/2 price ($16) and I thought, wow, a $32 Premier Cru at half price! He told me that I'd better buy two, so I did. (This is another element to this seeming irony because I've never been mislead by my "wine man".) Anyway, I taste tested it tonight to see if it was something I wanted more of right? Nay, nay! Don't think I'll be buying any more of this stuff any time soon. Don't get me TOTALLY wrong here! I hope I'm not painting too dismal a picture. I wasn't NASTY or ROTTEN, it just didn't seem to fit the "Chablis Premier Cru" bill. The nose was great - lightly floral with pineapple and citrus, but the palate was a flabby followup - hardly any acidity :cry: Strict taste-wise it was just fine, but mouth-sensation wise it was a flop - quite soft and structure-less.

Would appreciate any direction leading to what I hear, read, and believe should be great Chablis!

P.S. Any comparable New World counterparts?
"Wine can of their wits the wise beguile;
Make the sage frolic, and the serious smile."

- Homer 900 B.C.
no avatar
User

Cam Wheeler

Rank

Ultra geek

Wed May 17, 2006 7:01 pm

Sydney, Australia

Re: WTN: Another First! More Irony?

by Cam Wheeler » Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:19 am