The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.
no avatar
User

dave.rampage

Rank

Just got here

Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:36 pm

Looking for a Wine Expert To Help me Identify Some Wine

by dave.rampage » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:50 pm

Hello all. I really don't know much about wine. I am trying to learn slowly. I have a small wine collection, some of which I have been saving for many years. What I have come to realize is that perhaps some of the wines I have been saving are actually quite useless now and garbage. Some maybe would taste quite good. I was wondering if some of you could take a stab at letting me know which ones should be going down the drain and which ones should be good to drink. I would love to open one or two at some nice occasions soon and do not want to make anyone sick!

Thanks so much!

Here is a link for the Hi-Res photos as I can not figure out how to post them here.

https://postimg.cc/gallery/32ju48thk/
User

Steve Slatcher

Rank

Wine guru

Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:51 pm

Manchester, England

Re: Looking for a Wine Expert To Help me Identify Some Wine

by Steve Slatcher » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:12 pm

No one will get sick from drinking old wine, so don't worry about that.

I'm not familiar with many of those wines, but while some might be past their best they do not look ridiculously old to me, and should still give some pleasure - I think it depends on your personal taste as much as the actual wines. As you ask the question, I presume you are not familiar with older wines, so when you open them you might find the flavours unusual, and you should try to avoid judging them according to how young wines taste.

Maybe someone here will be able to comment in more detail. I bet some will be reluctant to follow your link, so I have posted your images here in the highest resolution allowed by the forum. Hope that is OK. (Just noticed the labels are difficult to read here - but they are a lot better in the original form)

pic2.jpg