The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Question on conditioning wine before bottling?

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Justin Jones

Rank

Cellar rat

Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:50 pm

Pierre, SD

Question on conditioning wine before bottling?

by Justin Jones » Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:28 am

I'm getting ready to bottle 5 gals of apple wine in a couple of weeks. What I would like to know is, what opinions or practices everyone uses as far as conditioning their wines. Yes, this is my first time. But don't worry, I'm not a fragile person.

1. Just use a wine conditioner with the liquid sugar and potassiom sorbate
in it. But then, do you need to add campden tablets or sodium bisulfite
to preserve the flavor and color?

2. Or use potassuim sorbate with campden tablets (crushed) or sodium
bisulfite and then sweeten to taste?

Well, anyway that's my question in a nutshell.
Thanks for your time.
JJones
no avatar
User

Howie Hart

Rank

The Hart of Buffalo

Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:13 pm

Niagara Falls, NY

Re: Question on conditioning wine before bottling?

by Howie Hart » Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:16 pm

First of all, make sure the wine is clear and stable - nothing going on. Remove 1 bottle of the wine (750ml) and dissolve 2 teaspoons of sugar in that wine. See how it tastes. If you want it a bit sweeter, dissolve another teasppon, and so on. Each 2 teaspoons of sugar will add about 1% sugar. When you decide how sweet you want it, measure out the sugar for the entire batch. 1 cup of cane sugar will yield about 1% sugar in 5 gallons (same as 2 teaspoons in 1 bottle). Dissolve the sugar in a small quantity of the wine. Add 2 teaspoons of potassium sorbate. Add Potassium metabisulfite to give a level of about 80ppm SO2. DO NOT USE sodium bisulfite. After bottling, allow 4-6 weeks for the sugar to stabilize before drinking.

Calculation of Sulfur Dioxide (SO2)
Potassium metabisulfite, 1 gram = 150 ppm in 1 gallon, 30 ppm in 5 gallons