The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: Catching up with old notes

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Saina

Rank

Musaroholic

Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:07 pm

Helsinki, Finland

WTN: Catching up with old notes

by Saina » Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:02 pm

For some reason I have a bad habit of not writing up notes often enough on wines that I drink at home with dinner. Most of what I write about seems to be about formal tastings or informal gatherings with some friends. Here are a few that I've drunk just for the fun of it over the past month or so. P.s. I am a lousy cook, but I still like my wines with food - so my apologies if the pairings aren't really helpful.

Château Grand-Puy Ducasse 2001 13% c.30€

I found a nice looking piece of lamb at Reinin Liha (best butcher in Finland IMO!). I guess I'm a bit of a minimalist with foods: I just stuck it in the oven until very tender and put a bit of salt and pepper on top. It tasted just wonderful like that - it didn't need any fancy toppings. Lamb cries out for Pauillac:

I like the green/herbal, savoury character that so many 2001s have - it seems to be textbook Claret. This wine does have that, but unfortunately there is dilly oak on top of the quintessential Clarettyness. The palate has nice acidity and is fresh though fruity enough. I would like this wine quite a bit without the dill aspect. Not a modernist wine, not a strict traditionalist either - or then I caught in an unexpressive moment. But so many 2001s have seemed delightful albeit young just now, that I am not sure.

Domaine du Vieux Lazaret Châteauneuf-du-Pape 2004 14,5% 19,98€