The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: 2 very good wines- Drouhin and FX Pichler

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Dale Williams

Rank

Compassionate Connoisseur

Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:32 pm

Dobbs Ferry, NY (NYC metro)

WTN: 2 very good wines- Drouhin and FX Pichler

by Dale Williams » Fri Mar 08, 2024 5:22 pm

Roast chicken with carrots, couscous, and salad
2020 Drouhin Vosne-Romanee 1er Cru
I’m a big fan of the Drouhin multi-vineyard Chambolle, but this is my first time with the Vosne, and I’m very impressed. Black cherry, spice, forest floor meets mild barnyard. Very earthy, floral, with long finish. On night 3 still going strong, with coffee and more pronounced spicy notes. Young, will put away and hope I can keep my hands off. B+/A- for now, great potential.

No wine Wednesday with”Sicilian” tuna steak (in a spicy tomato/olive/caper sauce( and broccoli rabe

Shrimp tempura, kimchi dumplings, shanghai tips
2008 FX Pichler M Gruner Veltliner Smaragd
I tend not to buy FX Pichler, as there is a premium over other producers I like as much. But very glad I bought this one! Honied but not hot or heavy. Grapefruit pith, ripe tropical fruits,green pea, mineral. No sign of age except a light petrol note, very long. A-

Grade disclaimer: I'm a very easy grader, basically A is an excellent wine, B a good wine, C drinkable. Anything below C means I wouldn't drink at a party where it was only choice. Furthermore, I offer no promises of objectivity, accuracy, and certainly not of consistency.
no avatar
User

David M. Bueker

Rank

Riesling Guru

Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:52 am

Connecticut

Re: WTN: 2 very good wines- Drouhin and FX Pichler

by David M. Bueker » Fri Mar 08, 2024 5:44 pm

Both sound excellent. What are they getting for the Vosne 1er?
Decisions are made by those who show up
no avatar
User

Rahsaan

Rank

Wild and Crazy Guy

Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:20 pm

New York, NY

by Rahsaan » Sat Mar 09, 2024 10:35 pm