The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Open mike: Focus on Fitou

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Saina

Rank

Musaroholic

Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:07 pm

Helsinki, Finland

Open mike: Focus on Fitou

by Saina » Sat Mar 24, 2007 4:55 pm

The South of France seems all the rage now - we even got a Fitou on the market over here in Permafrostestan! As I'm always interested in trying new wines from areas I have little or no experience with, I bought it today.

WTN: Château des Erles Fitou 2002 (J & F Lurton) 14% 32€ :shock:

The package pleases my aesthetic senses: the lable is elegant and simple.

A little googling would suggest that the wine is composed of Grenache, Carignan and Syrah in equal amounts. The nose is quite personal, with some aspects much to my liking, others not at all. There is vibrant fruit, yet it has some savoury, even vegetal, aromas. It is meaty and strawberry-like and peppery - all the grape varieties show themselves as themselves yet are working together to make the sum greater than the parts. Unfortunately there is a jammy aspect to the fruit and the oak is rather heavyhanded. Yet so often when I find that oak is used heavily, it detracts from all else. In this wine, however, it doesn't obfuscate the fruit aromatics.

The palate is full bodied, very sweet in its fruit, but has lovely acidity and fine tannins which make this a very moreish wine. Unfortunately the oak shows as a toffeed and Christmas spice aspect on the aftertaste. But, on the happier side of things, the aftertaste has quite a prominent minerality also. This seems to have the structure to age well.

There are a couple times in a year when I hope to drink a very fruity wine. With less oak, this would be a candidate for those couple days. As such, even with its admirable qualities, I won't be buying it again.

I hope to learn more about Fitou, and hope that someone else will open one up also! :)

-O-