The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: Oyster Bay 2006 Sauvignon Blanc

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

MattThr

Rank

Ultra geek

Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:25 am

UK

WTN: Oyster Bay 2006 Sauvignon Blanc

by MattThr » Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:45 am

I'm very new to wine as a hobby. Inspired by nothing more than a desire to stop wasting my money and time on poor wine I've learned a little bit and decided to start keeping some tasting notes.

This is my very first. So if I've made a hash of it, or if I've picked a wine so commonly available that a public tasting note is hardly worth the effort then I apologise. But the purpose of posting it here is as much to gain feedback on how to write a note as it is to share my experience. So here goes.

-------

The aroma of the wine reminds me as much of summer meadows as anything else - grass and background scents of fresh blossom. It seems very pale in appearance, even for a white wine.

Initial taste seems very strongly acid - almost offputingly so. But this is fleeting and is rapidly replaced by a burst of flavour over the tongue that seems almost to fizz like sherbet. The predominant taste is that of lime, with strong undertones of grass and the buttery quality that so dominates in oaked Chardonnay. These eventually fade to be replaced by a slightly acid, generic citrus flavour at the finish.
no avatar
User

Keith M

Rank

Beer Explorer

Sat Jan 06, 2007 2:25 am

Finger Lakes, New York

Re: WTN: Oyster Bay 2006 Sauvignon Blanc

by Keith M » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:31 am

Great notes, Matt, and welcome to the forum!

I don't think I have had the 2006, but I really enjoyed the 2005 Oyster Bay. A very decent wine for the money (I think around $12), in my opinion, as well as garnering general approval from a gaggle of friends.

Looking forward to your notes on future wines!
no avatar
User

MattThr

Rank

Ultra geek

Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:25 am

UK