The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

In praise of bubbles

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Lizbeth S

Rank

Wine geek

Thu Apr 20, 2006 4:41 pm

Philadelphia, PA

In praise of bubbles

by Lizbeth S » Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:03 pm

I will admit that until last weekend, I never understood people's love of champagne/sparking wine. Most likely because (and I'm kind of ashamed to admit this) the only sparklers I have ever tasted were super cheap ones served at midnight on New Years Eve. But last Saturday I graduated (yay!) from law school, and a few people gave me good bottles of champagne. One was Taittinger Brut and it pretty quickly changed my whole outlook on champagne. The bubbles were super fine, and it tasted nicely citrus-y, with a bit of peach and some toast thrown in at the end. Later that night, my family went out to eat at a restaurant where a good friend is the manager and he gave us a free bottle of champagne. I'm not sure what it was, but it was even better!

I will definitely be exploring the world of sparklers now. :D
no avatar
User

David Creighton

Rank

Wine guru

Wed May 24, 2006 10:07 am

ann arbor, michigan

Re: In praise of bubbles

by David Creighton » Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:57 pm

congrats on the graduation
1. from law school
2. from the cheap stuff to the good stuff. i agree about champagne.
david creighton
no avatar
User

Howie Hart

Rank

The Hart of Buffalo

Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:13 pm

Niagara Falls, NY

by Howie Hart » Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:28 pm

I found that most people who say they don't like champagne (lower case "c") have never had Champagne. :roll:
Chico - Hey! This Bottle is empty!
Groucho - That's because it's dry Champagne.
no avatar
User

Glenn Mackles

Rank

Ultra geek

Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:52 am

Virginia

by Glenn Mackles » Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:40 pm