Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

RCP: Jenise's Triple X-Rated Adult Potato Salad

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Jenise

Rank

FLDG Dishwasher

Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:45 pm

The Pacific Northest Westest

RCP: Jenise's Triple X-Rated Adult Potato Salad

by Jenise » Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:27 pm

IOW, your kids probably won't like it.

Per Chris' request, from a post on the old FLDG which was in answer to Traci's request:

Mind, I've never written this down before, nor do I use measuring cups or such that I have precise measurements (I don't even own any), but I'm very accurate at eyeballing amounts scooped with tablespoons, poured into the palm of my hand or poured into an old coffee cup that is my one-size-fits-all non-scientific measuring device. So the amounts listed in this recipe are accurate but approximate--in fact, the only thing I'm a little unsure of is exactly how much vinegar eventually ends up in the salad since that gets drizzled, thumb over bottle opening (I keep an easy-to-grip long/narrow-necked wine bottle of apple cider vinegar stove-side), which could be moot since your vinegar might be weaker or stronger so it's a to-taste thing.

Anyway, any good cook will be able to follow my instructions and, using a little judgement, duplicate my results. This mustard-less potato salad gets it's tang from vinegar, it's lightness and sophistication from the sour cream, it's texture and color from the lovely red skins and green celery, and it's spice from canned (don't substitute fresh, you need canned) jalapenos "en escabeche". Chopped fresh jalapeno is a nice additional ingredient, but not neccessary to the flavor the way the escabeche juice is. The result is a stiff, not greasy or fatty-seeming potato salad with a hot little kick in the back end. A guest on Sunday called it "potato salad for adults", a perfect description. I never serve it that someone doesn't ask for the recipe.