Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

Fresh bamboo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Jenise

Rank

FLDG Dishwasher

Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:45 pm

The Pacific Northest Westest

Fresh bamboo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by Jenise » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:01 pm

One of my 'fetishes' is bamboo shoots. I buy the shoots pickled and preserved in chile oil and eat them straight out of the jar for a snack/treat. And fresh bamboo was one of the epiphanies of our trip to China two summers ago. So boy was I excited to find fresh "white bamboo" (per the package) imported from China yesterday at an Asian market in Richmond BC yesterday afternoon.

I've never worked with fresh bamboo before, but my understanding of the preparation requirements is that after peeling they'll need to undergo a series of boilings to remove something toxic as well as tenderize. If what I bought yields enough, I'll use them in a stir fry as well as make a dish of lightly pickled shoots in oil, white wine vinegar and chilies, a simple preparation that flatters the delicate flavors and textures of the fresh product and that was my favorite thing about a meal we had in Beijing one night.

Here's a picture of the fresh bamboo I bought:

BambooShoots.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My wine shopping and I have never had a problem. Just a perpetual race between the bankruptcy court and Hell.--Rogov
no avatar
User

Cynthia Wenslow

Rank

Pizza Princess

Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:32 pm

The Third Coast

Re: Fresh bamboo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by Cynthia Wenslow » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:08 pm

I don't think I've ever seen fresh bamboo in a grocery, Asian or otherwise. Please let us know how this works out!
no avatar
User

Jenise

Rank

FLDG Dishwasher

by Jenise » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:17 pm